Drs. Brian Clay, Marlene Millen, Amy Sitapati Take New Leadership Roles in Clinical Informatics

On June 16, 2016, UC San Diego Health Chief Information Officer Dr. Christopher Longhurst announced the formation of a new clinical informatics faculty leadership structure at UC San Diego Health in which three Department of Medicine faculty members are appointed to new roles.

“We recognize these individuals for their past contributions, collaborative skills and vision of health care innovation to benefit our faculty, staff, patients, and families,” Dr. Longhurst said.

Dr. Brian Clay is appointed Chief Medical Information Officer (CMIO) for Inpatient and Hospital Affiliations. Dr. Clay is Health Sciences Clinical Professor of Medicine in the Division of Hospital Medicine.

Dr. Marlene Millen, Professor of Medicine in the Division of General Internal Medicine, is Chief Medical Information Officer for Ambulatory Care.

Dr. Amy Sitapati, Health Sciences Clinical Professor of Medicine, Owen Clinic, is the Chief Medical Information Officer for Population Health.



Two Research Award-Winning Medical Residents to Present Grand Rounds This Week

Drs. Trisha Sharma and Ahnika Kline, two internal medicine residents who won research awards for their posters at this year’s UC San Diego Internal Medicine Residency Program Research Symposium, will present their work at Medicine Grand Rounds on June 1.

Trisha Sharma, MD

R2 Trisha Sharma, MD, left, will present on “Gastrointestinal Manifestations of Common Variable Immunodeficiency Disorder.”

Ahnika Kline, MD, PhDDr. Sharma received her MD degree from Rutgers New Jersey Medical School.

R3 Ahnika Kline, MD, PhD, right, will present “Quality Improvement in Internal Medicine: A Test Case of Hepatitis C.” In 2016-2017, Dr. Kline will be VA Chief Resident in Quality and Safety. She received her MD degree from UC San Francisco.