Two Department of Medicine faculty members have been honored with election to the American Academy of Arts & Sciences (AAAS).

Drs. Richard D. Kolodner and Samuel I. Rapaport, both from the Division of Hematology-Oncology, are among seven from UC San Diego who will be welcomed into the AAAS at an induction ceremony in Cambridge, Massachusetts, in October.

The AAAS is one of the nation’s oldest and most esteemed honorific societies. Membership is granted to a select group of leaders in science, the arts and humanities, and civic and corporate life each year. Read the AAAS press release

Read the full story from Health Sciences Communications

Dr. Kolodner is Professor of Medicine in the Division of Hematology-Oncology, Leader of the Cancer Genetics Program at the Moores UC San Diego Cancer Center, and a member of the Ludwig Institute for Cancer Research. He has gained international recognition for his studies of the connection between DNA mismatch genes and the development of cancer.

He became a Fellow of the American Academy of Microbiology in 1998 and a member of the National Academy of Sciences USA in 2000. Among his many distinguished research awards are the General Motors Cancer Research Foundation Mott Prize (1996) and the Kirk A. Landon-AACR Prize for Basic Cancer Research (2007).

Dr. Samuel I. RapaportDr. Rapaport is Emeritus Professor of Medicine and Pathology and former Chief of the Division of Hematology-Oncology. During his distinguished career at UC San Diego, he has served as Chief of Hematology-Oncology and Director of the Hemostasis and Thrombosis Research Laboratory.

He has performed groundbreaking investigations of the mechanisms of blood coagulation in health and disease. One of the key figures in the history of the American Society of Hematology (ASH), Dr. Rapaport was its president in 1977. Current president of ASH is Dr. Kenneth Kaushansky, Professor and Helen M. Ranney Chair of the Department of Medicine.

%d bloggers like this: