Drs. John Chang, William Sandborn and Kim Barrett Honored by American Gastroenterological Association at DDW 2016

Drs. John T. Chang, William J. Sandborn and Kim E. Barrett have received high honors at Digestive Diseases Week® 2016, the annual joint meeting of the American Gastroenterological Association and other gastroenterology and hepatology societies.

John T. Chang, MD

John T. Chang, MD

John T. Chang, MD, Associate Professor of Medicine in the Division of Gastroenterology, was honored with the AGA Young Investigator Award in Basic Science.  |  Read AGA Press Release

The award recognizes Dr. Chang for his originality and innovative insight into basic mechanisms underlying lymphocyte fate specification in systemic and mucosal immune responses.

Dr. Chang is currently exploring whether pharmacologic modulation of proteasome activity might be a useful strategy for improving memory cell generation, highly relevant for mucosal vaccine development.  |  Visit the Chang Laboratory

Dr. William Sandborn

William J. Sandborn, MD

William J. Sandborn, MD, AGAF, received the 2016 AGA Institute Council Immunology, Microbiology & Inflammatory Bowel Diseases (IMIBD) Section Research Mentor Award.

Dr. Sandborn is Professor of Medicine and Chief of the Division of Gastroenterology at UC San Diego.

The AGA Institute Council Intestinal Disorders Section Research Mentor Award went to Kim E. Barrett, PhD, AGAF, Professor of Medicine in the Division of Gastroenterology and Dean of Graduate Studies at UC San Diego.

Kim E. Barrett, PhD

Kim E. Barrett, PhD

The AGA gave its highest honor, the Julius Friedenwald Award, to C. Richard Boland, MD, AGAF, a past leader of the UC San Diego Division of Gastroenterology.

Dr. Boland was Chief of Gastroenterology at UC San Diego from 1995 to 2003.  |  Read the AGA Press Release

Dr. Boland, now at the Baylor University Medical Center in Dallas, TX, received the award for his lifelong contributions to the field of gastroenterology and the AGA.

The American Association for the Study of Liver Diseases (AASLD), American Society for Gastrointestinal Endoscopy (ASGE) and the Society for Surgery of the Alimentary Tract (SSAT) are other sponsoring societies in DDW.

Dr. Sheila Crowe Selected as Vice President of the American Gastroenterological Association

An Announcement from Dr. William J. Sandborn
Professor and Chief, Division of Gastroenterology –

Dr. William Sandborn

Dr. William Sandborn

It is with great pleasure that I share with you that Dr. Sheila Crowe has been selected as Vice President of the American Gastroenterological Association (AGA).

In this role, she will begin a four-year term of service to the AGA, transitioning yearly from Vice President to President Elect to President and finally to Past President and Chair of the AGA Foundation.

Dr. Sheila E. Crowe

Dr. Sheila E. Crowe, Professor of Medicine and Director of Research in the Division of Gastroenterology.

This is perhaps the highest honor that a physician in our specialty can receive. It is a tremendous honor for Dr. Crowe, and for our entire Division.

I am so proud to have Dr. Crowe in our Division. Please join me in congratulating her on this accomplishment.

Best regards,

William J. Sandborn, MD
Professor of Medicine and Adjunct Professor of Surgery
Chief, Division of Gastroenterology
Director, Inflammatory Bowel Disease Center
University of California, San Diego
and UC San Diego Health System

Sheila Crowe Receives Distinguished Educator Award from American Gastroenterological Association

Dr. Sheila E. Crowe

Dr. Sheila E. Crowe

UC San Diego physician-scientist Dr. Sheila E. Crowe has received a Distinguished Educator Award from the American Gastroenterological Association for her contributions as an educator, lecturer, and mentor throughout her career.

The award also recognizes Crowe for her work toward increasing public awareness of celiac disease. She directs the Adult Celiac Disease Clinic at UCSD’s Perlman Clinic. Dr. Crowe is also affiliated with the William K. Warren Medical Research Center for Celiac Disease.

Sheila E. Crowe, MD, AGAF, FRCPC, FACP, FACG, is professor of medicine and director of research in the Division of Gastroenterology. She joined the UC San Diego faculty in 2011.

The award is one of two such awards given by the American Gastroenterological Association this year.

More Information:

Dr. Kim E. Barrett Is Named Among the Outstanding Women in Science 2008

Dr. Kim BarrettKim E. Barrett, Ph.D., AGAF, Professor in the Division of Gastroenterology and UC San Diego Dean of Graduate Studies, has won a national honor for her outstanding contributions in the field of digestive health.

The Foundation for Digestive Health and Nutrition of the American Gastroenterological Association (AGA) has named Dr. Barrett one of the Outstanding Women in Science for 2008.

Dr. Barrett received her award in a ceremony during the Digestive Disease Week 2008 (DDW® 2008) conference held in San Diego May 17-22.

Read the full story from the AGA

More Information: