Dr. Atul Malhotra Is American Thoracic Society President for 2015-2016

Dr. Atul MalhotraAtul Malhotra, MD, was installed as president of the American Thoracic Society (ATS) in a ceremony on May 19 during the ATS 2015 Plenary Session.

Dr. Malhotra is Kenneth M. Moser Professor, Chief of the Division of Pulmonary and Critical Care Medicine, and Director of Sleep Medicine in the Department of Medicine.

Read ATS press release

Dr. Rebecca Sell Receives ATS Young Investigator Award

Dr. Rebecca Sell

Dr. Rebecca Sell

Rebecca Sell, MD, associate director of the Internal Medicine Residency Program and assistant professor of medicine in the Division of Pulmonary and Critical Care Medicine, won an American Thoracic Society (ATS) 2014 Young Investigator Award for her presentation at the annual meeting of the Asian Pacific Society of Respirology (APSR) in Bali, Indonesia, November 13-16, 2014.

Her presentation was titled, “Difference in Outcomes between Senior Physician and Medicine Resident-led Code Blues.”

Dr. Sell was a chief medical resident in the UC San Diego Internal Medicine Residency Training Program in 2006-2007.

Dr. Rebecca Sell receiving award at 2014 APRS meeting.

Dr. Sell receiving the award. Photo by Atul Malhotra, MD.

On the APSR 2014 program faculty was Atul Malhotra, MD, Kenneth M. Moser Professor of Medicine, director of sleep medicine and chief of the UC San Diego Division of Pulmonary and Critical Care Medicine.

Dr. Malhotra, who received an ATS Young Investigator award in 2005, will serve as president of the ATS in 2015-2016.

Research Profile: Dr. Timothy Morris, Clinical and Research Specialist in VTE

Dr. Timothy MorrisTimothy Morris, MD, has received a 5-year R01 grant from the National Heart, Lung and Blood Institute for his study, “Deep vein thrombosis and chronic thrombotic venous disease.”

The goal of the study is to find out why deep vein thrombi fail to dissolve completely in some individuals, leaving them with blood clot remnants that become scars and obstruct blood flow.

This condition, called chronic thrombotic venous disease, can cause disfigurement and chronic leg pain.   |  Read the public abstract of Dr. Morris’s grant

Dr. Morris, Professor of Clinical Medicine in the Division of Pulmonary & Critical Care Medicine, is a clinical and research specialist in venous thromboembolism (VTE).

He helped create the VTE prevention protocols for which the UCSD Medical Center has won national recognition.

Dr. Morris has received a number of honors and research funding awards for his work.

He was recently awarded the American College of Chest Physicians and The CHEST Foundation “Grant in Venous Thromboembolism” for 2009-2011 for a multicenter project entitled “User-Friendly VTE Prophylaxis.”In May of this year, the American Thoracic Society honored Dr. Morris with the “Certificate of Achievement as the Clinical Expert in Pulmonary Embolism.”

The California Thoracic Society named him Outstanding Clinician for 2008.

In 2003, Dr. Morris was awarded the first-ever “Distinguished Scholar in Thrombosis” by The CHEST Foundation of the American College of Chest Physicians.

The award, given for his project “Learning From Ourselves: Application of the Continuous Quality Improvement Model for the Management of Pulmonary Embolism,” was accompanied by a four-year salary support grant.

Dr. Morris is clinical service chief of the pulmonary and critical care program at the Hillcrest campus of the UCSD Medical Center. In addition, he is Medical Director of Respiratory Care and the Pulmonary Function Laboratory.

More Information

Dr. Patricia Finn Receives Elizabeth A. Rich Award

The American Thoracic Society has named Dr. Patricia W. Finn the 2009 recipient of the Elizabeth A. Rich, M.D., Award.

Each year, the award is given to a woman who is a demonstrated leader, mentor, and role model in the field of respiratory and critical care and sleep medicine.

Dr. Finn will be honored in a ceremony at the American Thoracic Society’s ATS 2009 meeting in San Diego in May.

Patricia W. Finn, M.D., is Professor of Medicine and Chief of the Division of Pulmonary and Critical Care Medicine.

The division’s clinical program in pulmonary and critical care medicine is ranked eighth in the nation on the 2008 “America’s Best Hospitals” list from U.S. News and World Report.