Christopher K. Glass and Clifford P. Kubiak Elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences

Two UC San Diego faculty members have been elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, one of the nation’s most prestigious honorary societies, which includes accomplished leaders from academe, business, public affairs, the humanities and the arts.

Christopher K. Glass, a professor of medicine and of cellular and molecular medicine, and Clifford P. Kubiak, a distinguished professor of chemistry and biochemistry, join the 2014 class of academy members … Read the full story from the UC San Diego Newsroom

Dr. Timothy Bigby Receives Department of Medicine Clinical Services Award for 2011-2012

Dr. Timothy BigbyDr. Timothy Bigby, professor of medicine and interim chief of the Division of Pulmonary & Critical Care Medicine, has received the Department of Medicine’s Leadership & Innovation in Patient-Centered Systems award for 2011-2012.

Each year, the award recognizes the clinical program leader whose efforts have achieved particular excellence in service of the patient care mission in internal medicine and its subspecialties.

“Physician leaders in the Department of Medicine are contributing in extremely significant ways. Dr. Bigby’s recognition speaks to the magnitude of his accomplishments above and beyond the already high standards,” said Dr. Daniel Bouland, clinical professor of medicine and Vice Chair for Clinical Operations in the Department of Medicine.

Drs. Daniel Bouland, Timothy Bigby and Francis Gabbai

Pictured above: Leadership & Innovation in Patient-Centered Systems Award recipient Timothy Bigby, MD, with Daniel Bouland, MD, at left and Francis Gabbai, MD, at right. Dr. Gabbai is Chief of the Medicine Service at the VA San Diego Healthcare System and Professor and Vice Chair for VA Affairs in the Department of Medicine.
A highlight of Medicine’s end-of-year clinical services meeting was a panel discussion with three UC San Diego Health System internal medicine physicians whose clinical programs deliver five-star service.

The panelists: